NON-LEAGUE FOOTBALL: New recruits dare to dream big with the Lilies

There seems to be a common factor between two of Chatteris Town’s summer signings so far.

The Lilies signed central defender Dean Grogan from nearby Ely City last week and, more recently, young full-back Adam Parmenter after appearing for St Ives Town’s title-winning under 18 side last season.

Both players made their debuts in the 1-0 Bill Salisbury Memorial Cup triumph at March Town last Thursday, and both have made the switch to West Street for similar reasons.

“Chatteris interested me over other clubs because of the young squad and the welcoming feeling they sent across”, Grogan said.

“They seem like a team with big potential and big plans, which I hope to be a part of.

“Ash has got plans which he and everyone at the club want to achieve, so hopefully, I can be part of a successful strong back four and team.

“The club has plans so hopefully we can achieve them and play some nice football.”

New signing Dean Grogan (right) hopes to add goals from defence this season

Although the former Robins man hopes to personally develop under manager Ashley Taylor’s tutelage, he also looks to succeed with his new set of teammates.

“I hope to bring my heart and passion to the team, along with my fight and ambition, some strong defending and a few goals.

“I hope I can progress obviously myself, but also help the team progress – the team is the main aim for me.”

Parmenter, who committed to the Lilies cause on Tuesday, has previously featured for fellow Kershaw Premier Division outfit Hemingfords United.

However, the 17-year old hopes to achieve bigger and better things at his new club.

“Although having several other offers, I think this team is going places and they have Ashley Taylor who believes in young, promising players to play at senior level, which I think is great”, Parmenter said.

“I had been training with three other clubs during pre-season and I was contacted by Ashley about coming to training and I thought I’d go along.

“I was also introduced to Jimmy Unwin through one of the young coaches at St Ives, Alfie Tate, so I went along to one of his pre pre-season sessions and his coaching was superb.

“I had played against them last season at Chatteris and thought they had a great setup there, and they finished in a good position.

“They are in a competitive league at a good standard of football, the players there have great quality and the club has great ambition.

“I think I can bring energy to the side and a hard-working attitude with a willingness to learn.

“I think the more games I play, I will improve and add to my game.”

One player that is one of Town’s key transfer targets is Jack Saunders, who appeared for United Counties Premier Division side Yaxley last campaign and highlighted in last week’s cup win.

Taylor’s men continue preparations ahead of the new season when they visit Step Five opposition in Haverhill Borough tonight at The New Croft (7.45pm), before playing three home games in seven days.

 

Leave a Reply

