NON-LEAGUE FOOTBALL: Gillies confident ahead of Linnets challenge

It may be the biggest challenge of his career so far, but one that he’s certainly ready for.

Striker Craig Gillies’ switch to step three King’s Lynn Town, who ply their trade in the Evo-Stik Southern Premier Division, may leave some wondering if he can succeed at a higher standard.

But Gillies, who netted 38 goals for step-seven Chatteris Town in the Kershaw Premier Division last season and finished runner-up in the league’s golden boot, is confident he can compete a few levels above than what he has been used to.

“Step Three is a massive step up and I really like the challenge to see how I can compete at that level”, he said.

“I enjoyed my time at Lynn last time and performed alright.

“I played three, scored three, but with work commitments, it was difficult at the time.

“I am going there with the intentions to score goals and win games, so hopefully it goes to plan.

“The club’s ambitions are to get promoted and be challenging along with a good cup run, so hopefully I can contribute well to that.”

The Lilies front-man has signed a one-year deal with the Linnets after impressing Lynn manager Ian Culverhouse, having previously featured for the club’s reserve side last year.

But Gillies admits there are still areas that can be bettered.

“There are a couple of aspects to my game I know I need to improve, but hopefully with a coach of Ian’s calibre, he can help get the best out of me.

“I had several other offers from clubs in different leagues, but when I knew Ian was interested in signing me, it was a massive privilege.

“From someone who has such experience was a big plus for signing for Lynn.”

The 25-year old forward also had strong words for Lilies boss Ashley Taylor, who has overseen his development since teaming up at Doddington United.

“Ash has been amazing since we first joined forces at Doddington.

“I have so much respect for Ash and I’ve loved playing every second for him.

“I’m sure our paths will cross again.”

Leave a Reply

